Des Moines, Iowa

The Des Moines metropolitan area, officially known as the Des Moines-West Des Moines, IA Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA), consists of five counties in central Iowa, United States: Polk, Dallas, Warren, Madison, and Guthrie.
Population: 207,510 (2013)
Area code: 515
Area: 213.9 km²

In 1950, the Tall Corn (now mid_Iowa) Council of the Boy Scouts of America donated this miniature Statue of Liberty to the state of Iowa as part of their service project.  She stands prominently on the north east corner of the capital grounds.  Her beautiful copper patina in stark contrast tot he gold leaf covered dome of the Capital.

We are always interested in hearing your stories and seeing your historical pictures of the sisters.  If you have a story to share or some images related to our Lady Liberty Sister please use our online form to submit your data.  We appreciate your assistance in keeping this site as complete and up to date as possible.

Tagged with: , , , ,